Day 139-Chartreuse

Blenko Water Bottle Chartreuse

In the early days of my collecting, I had an Olive Green water bottle that I thought was Chartreuse.   This was before the days of blenkocollectors.com and before Blenkoarchives.org so I had very little information to use as a basis for my judgement.  I can now guarantee to you that this is Chartreuse.  Back in the days when this was a catalog color a buyer for a large retail outlet derisively refered to Chartreuse as frog spit green, saying, “I’ll never have any of that frog spit green in my store.”  The frogs have done themselves proud.

4 thoughts on “Day 139-Chartreuse

  1. Another “crude” way to tell is that Chartreuse is almost always full of bubbles and quite heavy. I have 3 of them. One has medium sized bubbles scattered throughout and another just a few, and my favorite is full of hundreds of smaller bubbles. In the future I’ll be selling off most of my duplicates before I no longer have a place to sleep.

  2. The seeding of bubbles is my personal only way to solidly ID this color. I’ve owned about 10 Chartruse water bottles over the years & even more non water bottles items & this color always has seeding, Even items such as an applied handle. I’ve seen it from very slight to very heavy seeding. Olive & Chartruse can sometimes be almost the same color depending on each peticular example but the seeding is a dead ringer for ID. Even the lightest seeded examples will show more bubbles (even if lightly with fine bubbles) than an average Olive or any other stable color for that matter. This is a must have vintage color! The more seeds the more I personally enjoy them!

    • I’m with you regarding seeding, the more seeds the better. I have spoken with Katie regarding making a color with seeds but she said “we regard bubbles as defects.” I am guessing that something in the formula for the Chartreuse glass produces the bubbles. I have read that you can introduce bubbles into a batch of glass with potatoes of all things. A seeded purple or deep blue would be amazing.

  3. “defects” are in the eye of the beholder! I know that from a stability standpoint that is probably so, but I have 50 year old heavily seeded bottles that have stood the test of time. We are probably from the same era and they are holding up better than I am!

Leave a Reply

