Day 210-Emerald Handled

 

Blenko Water Bottle Emerald Handled

This is the second of nine  handled water bottles that I have owned.  The catalog designation is 384H.  There has always been some confusion in my mind about when these water bottles were made.  I had assumed that they were early 1940’s maybe even as early as 1939.  I finally did my homework and consulted the catalogs.  I can assure you that they are listed in the 1948, 1949 and 1950 catalogs, not in 1951.  I could not reference any 1947 catalog so I cannot be sure that they were not made earlier than 1948 but we have a good time period reference at least.  In 1948 the handled water bottle sold for $2.50.  I doubt that you will find many for 20 times that today.

Blog Update: October 6, 2012: I was looking at the catalogs on the Blenko Project website and noticed that although the handled water bottles are absent from the 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954 and 1955 catalogs, they do appear in the 1956 catalog.   This would mean that handled water bottles could appear in Charcoal, Gold, Teal and Lime as well as Crystal, Sea Green, Sky Blue, Amber, Emerald, Chartreuse, Amethyst, Turquoise and Ruby.

BLOG UPDATE: October 9 2013:  I now believe that the Blenko Project catalog for 1956 has a page from an earlier catalog added to it and that handled water bottles were not made in 1956.

BLOG UPDATE: June 25, 2015:  After checking with long time collectors I have found out that handled water bottles are shown in the catalog for 1947 but are not in the 1946 catalog.  (Thank you, Drema Wood.)

Leave a Reply

